Tuesday, September 09, 2008

Kienbock's Disease

Plain films form the basis for staging and treatment of Kienböck disease. Lichtman's modification of Stahl's classification is most widely used and divides the disease into 5 stages, as follows:
Stage I - Normal radiograph
Stage II - Increased radiodensity of lunate with possible decrease of lunate height on radial side only
Stage IIIa - Lunate collapse, no scaphoid rotation
Stage IIIb - Lunate collapse, fixed scaphoid rotation
Stage IV - Degenerative changes around the lunate

Dr.Sumer K Sethi, MD
Sr Consultant Radiologist ,VIMHANS and CEO-Teleradiology Providers
Editor-in-chief, The Internet Journal of Radiology
Director, DAMS (Delhi Academy of Medical Sciences)

Blog Archive